Naomi Osaka, Rafael Nadal, Bayern Munich, Lewis Hamilton win at Laureus World Sports Awards

Naomi Osaka has been named Sportswoman of the Year at the Laureus World Sports Awards, with fellow tennis player Rafael Nadal the men’s winner. Osaka won the US Open in 2020, while Spaniard Nadal equalled Roger Federer’s record of 20 Grand Slam men’s titles by winning last year’s French Open.

German football champions Bayern Munich, who won last season’s Champions League, were named Team of the Year. Tennis legend Billie Jean King received the Lifetime Achievement award. Briton Lewis Hamilton claimed the inaugural Athlete Advocate award, which has been brought in to acknowledge the wider impact on society made by athletes.

During the 2020 Formula 1 season, Hamilton took a knee on the grid and wore anti-racism slogans as he won a record-equalling seventh drivers’ title, while his Mercedes team also adopted a black livery for the campaign in a stand against discrimination.

Liverpool and Egypt striker Mohamed Salah won the Sporting Inspiration award for “his unique contribution over many years to those in need and for those less fortunate”. Nadal’s win was his fourth Laureus award, having previously won the Breakthrough, Comeback and main men’s awards.

Buhlebezwe Ntiwane.

Related posts

Hugo Broos named new SA’s Bafana coach


World Cup Champions France Held by Ukraine in Qualifying


Petition calling for the independent regulator in English football passes 100,000 signatures


Leave a Comment