Politics & Current Affairs

The U.S cuts off duty-free agreement with 3 African allies

Washington has announced that it will sever trade ties with Mali, Ethiopia, and Guinea under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) which is a U.S Trade Strategy like many others that protects only the Western country’s investment interests in sub-Saharan Africa.

Joe Biden reportedly told Congress in a letter that his decision to remove Ethiopia, Mali, and Guinea from the agreement that gives them duty-free access to the United States follows failure to comply with the Agoa eligibility criteria. Here is a report by LN24 SA correspondents Inga Mzilei with Jackie Tieties.

Related posts

South Africa: Lindiwe Sisulu controversial article slams judiciary


South Africa: Herman Mashaba resigns from position of Johannesburg city councillor


What happened to the heart of South African politics?


Leave a Comment